The systems used to produce components with satisfactory fatigue lives are reviewed. Generally there are three stages: design, prototype testing and observation of loads and performance in service. The author investigates the possible approaches to the consideration of fatigue life at the design stage. The most simple methods do not require much knowledge of fatigue; these include those based on experience or those designed to give an infinite life. The merits of alternative infinite life design systems are examined. The safe life concept is discussed and examples are given of the method used for initial designs. Feedback of information from tests and service operation may indicate that some of the initial assumptions were incorrect and the component requires modification. Damage tolerant designs are such that if a main part of the structure completely fails the load can still be carried. Flow charts are given to illustrate the various methods to design and test operating systems. Methods of checking in-service performance and compensating for unknown service loads are discussed. Alternative forms of remedial action are reviewed. /TRRL/

  • Corporate Authors:

    Society of Environmental Engineers

    4 Harmsworth Way
    London N20 8JU,   England 
  • Authors:
    • Bathgate, R G
  • Publication Date: 1978-12

Media Info

Subject/Index Terms

Filing Info

  • Accession Number: 00196920
  • Record Type: Publication
  • Source Agency: Transport Research Laboratory
  • Files: ITRD, TRIS
  • Created Date: Sep 15 1979 12:00AM