EuroNCAP : safety instrument.

Since early 1997, in Europe, a cooperation of consumer organizations, European governments, the European Commission, and car organizations have been doing crash tests to judge the safety of cars. This programme is called Euro NCAP. The test programme consists of four tests of new cars to see how good their frontal impact safety, side impact safety, and pedestrian protection is. Cars are subdivided into nine groups by mass and body shape. Euro NCAP has stimulated the interest for vehicle safety of all parties involved and, although this is difficult to measure, has had a positive effect on car safety over the last few years. One problem is that crash tests only say something about safety in a collision with a vehicle of the same group, but little about how a collision ends in practice. Extending the programme is being considered. This fact sheet may be accessed by Internet users at:

Media Info

  • Features: References;
  • Pagination: 4 p.

Subject/Index Terms

Filing Info

  • Accession Number: 01147327
  • Record Type: Publication
  • Source Agency: Institute for Road Safety Research, SWOV
  • Report/Paper Numbers: SWOV Fact sheet
  • Files: ITRD, SWOV
  • Created Date: Dec 29 2009 7:42AM