State-Owned Enterprises: A Challenge to Regional Integration

This paper describes how the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was established in 1967 by five member countries – Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. It is one of the most successful regional groupings among developed countries to date. Among developing countries, it is one of the most successful regional groupings. The Association was later joined by five more countries, Brunei in 1984, Vietnam in 1995, Lao PDR and Myanmar in 1997, and Cambodia in 1999. In 2005, the region hosts a combined population of 580 million, making it the most populous emerging market regional trade area. ASEAN has made great efforts in liberalizing trade within the region under the ASEAN Free Trade Agreement (AFTA). Tariffs between member were reduced 0-5% in January 2003 for all products, except a few on the general exception and sensitive list of each member country. Intra-regional trade now stands at roughly a quarter of the region’s total international trade. The region has also been forging closer economic ties with the rest of Asia. It has signed a Free Trade Agreement (FTA) with China and South Korea and is working on one with Japan and India.


  • English

Media Info

  • Media Type: Print
  • Features: Bibliography; Tables;
  • Pagination: pp 167-189
  • Monograph Title: Benefiting from Globalisation. Transport Sector Contribution and Policy Challenges

Subject/Index Terms

Filing Info

  • Accession Number: 01140804
  • Record Type: Publication
  • ISBN: 9789282101681
  • Files: TRIS
  • Created Date: Sep 25 2009 4:38PM