Evaluation of Oregon's Graduated Driver Licensing Program

The State of Oregon enacted its Graduated Driver's License (GDL) program in March 2000. Oregon's GDL program includes both a nighttime driving restriction (midnight-5 a.m.) for the first year, and a passenger restriction (no passengers younger than age 20 in the first 6 months; no more than three passengers younger than age 20 in the second 6 months). The GDL law also mandates either 50 hours of supervised driving and the completion of an Oregon Department of Transportation approved driver education course, or 100 hours of supervised driving (without completion of the driver education course). The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration contracted with the Center for Applied Research (CAR) to conduct an evaluation of Oregon's GDL program. This fact sheet briefly presents CAR's findings from focus groups and an analysis of driver performance data (i.e., crashes, convictions, and suspensions).

Language

  • English

Media Info

  • Media Type: Print
  • Features: Figures;
  • Pagination: 2p
  • Serial:
  • Publication flags:

    Open Access (libre)

Subject/Index Terms

Filing Info

  • Accession Number: 01095870
  • Record Type: Publication
  • Source Agency: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
  • Report/Paper Numbers: HS-043 945
  • Files: HSL, TRIS, USDOT
  • Created Date: Apr 28 2008 3:45PM