The Surface Transportation and Uniform Relocation Assistance Act of 1987 requires that an applicant for federal financial assistance to purchase or lease buses with Federal Transit Administration (FTA) funds is responsible for determining whether a bus is a new bus model. This brief describes the requirements of the "Bus Testing Law", detailing the seven tests required: safety, structural integrity and durability, reliability, performance, maintainability, noise, and fuel economy.

Media Info

Subject/Index Terms

Filing Info

  • Accession Number: 00622807
  • Record Type: Publication
  • Source Agency: Federal Transit Administration
  • Files: NTL, TRIS, USDOT
  • Created Date: Jun 30 1992 12:00AM