1976 DRIVER LICENSE ADMINISTRATION REQUIREMENTS AND FEES

Following comments on the present system of driver licensing by the States and a listing of driver licensing standards from Section 203 of title II of the Highway Safety Act of 1966 (Section 402,23 USC), an explanation is given of the tables in this report which contain data on the following for the 50 States and the District of Columbia: (1) driver license administration and age requirements; (2) driver examination; (3) reciprocity; (4) driver license content; (5) driver license fees; and (6) suspension, revocation and reinstatement. The driver license law is administred by the Department of Motor Vehicles or Transportation in 25 States and the District of Columbia, by Departments of Public Safety or law enforcement agencies in 14 States, and by other departments (State, Revenue, Highways, etc.) in 11 States. The minimum legal driving age ranges from 14 to 21 years, but may be changed according to certain conditions in many of the States. Forty-three States require positive identification of applicants before issuance of the first drivers license. The time permitted to obtain a license for a newcomer to a State ranges from immediately in 17 States, up to 30 days in an additional 14 States, and up to 90 days in an additional 17 States. Driver license fees vary greatly among the States. Fees for original licenses average nearly $2 per year, but since the terms range from 1 to 4 years, the total fees range from $2 to $15.50.

  • Corporate Authors:

    Federal Highway Administration

    1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE
    Washington, DC  United States  20590
  • Authors:
    • Mundy, A
  • Publication Date: 1976-2

Media Info

  • Features: Appendices; Figures; Tables;
  • Pagination: 7 p.

Subject/Index Terms

Filing Info

  • Accession Number: 00131391
  • Record Type: Publication
  • Files: TRIS, USDOT
  • Created Date: May 14 1976 12:00AM