Inadequacies in the subsystems of the Northeastern Wisconsin emergency medical services (EMS) system are outlined, together with efforts for improvement. The flow pattern of the EMS system, in general, is presented. The Northeastern Wisconsin EMS system is assessed in terms of its five subsystems: transportation services, training of emergency medical technicians, hospital facilities, communications, and public education. The objectives for each of the following 15 program components are defined: manpower, training, communications, transportation, facilities, critical care units, public safety agencies, consumer participation, accessibility to care, transfer of patients, standard medical recordkeeping, consumer education and information, evaluation, disaster, and mutual aid agreements. Standards for the five EMS subsystems are presented, as developed by the Northeastern Wisconsin Area-Wide EMS Council. The current situation in the transportation subsystem is described for each of the nine counties in the region, and recommendations are presented for service area divisions among existing ambulance services, and for phase-out and development of providers in order to eliminate both duplication and service voids.

  • Corporate Authors:

    New Health Planning Council

    Emergency Medical Services Program, 828 Cherry Street
    Green Bay, WI  United States  54301
  • Publication Date: 0

Media Info

  • Features: References;
  • Pagination: 113 p.

Subject/Index Terms

Filing Info

  • Accession Number: 00393729
  • Record Type: Publication
  • Source Agency: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
  • Report/Paper Numbers: HS-027 315U
  • Files: HSL, USDOT
  • Created Date: May 31 1985 12:00AM