The effects of Michigan’s weakened motorcycle helmet use law on insurance losses – five years later

Michigan's motorcycle helmet law allows motorcyclists 21-years of age and older to ride without a helmet as long as they have at least $20,000 in medical payment (MedPay) coverage. This report examines insurance loss data from 2010, before the law was enacted in April of 2012, through the 2016 riding season. The losses were compared with losses in control States with traditional motorcycle helmet laws. The analysis showed a significant increase in MedPay overall losses that coincided with the helmet law change. Losses were 64% higher when compared to control States. Both MedPay and collision exposure increased by 12%.

Language

  • English

Media Info

  • Media Type: Digital/other
  • Features: Appendices; Figures; References; Tables;
  • Pagination: 11p
  • Serial:

Subject/Index Terms

Filing Info

  • Accession Number: 01689093
  • Record Type: Publication
  • Files: TRIS
  • Created Date: May 14 2018 10:40AM