Crash test outcomes for three generic barrier types

In 2009, NSW Roads and Maritime Services (then the NSW Roads and Traffic Authority) conducted a number of full-scale crash tests. The tests involved three barrier types; namely rigid, semi-rigid and flexible barriers. The tests utilised four vehicle types; namely a small passenger vehicle, medium size passenger vehicle, a large 4-wheel drive and a rigid truck. The barriers chosen are considered to be representative of barrier types in use in Australia and the vehicles representative of those in use below 8 tonne gross mass. For most of the tests, three instrumented dummies were utilised in the vehicle. These tests provide information about the relative performance of different barrier types and this information will influence when and where different barriers types are used on the road system. Aspects of the performance include capacity, deflection, energy absorption and impact severity (head impact criterion (HIC).


  • English

Media Info

  • Pagination: 22p
  • Monograph Title: The Australian Low Carbon Transport Forum: identifying the greenhouse gas abatement potential of the Australian transport sector

Subject/Index Terms

Filing Info

  • Accession Number: 01455646
  • Record Type: Publication
  • Source Agency: ARRB
  • Files: ITRD, ATRI
  • Created Date: Nov 30 2012 2:43PM