Collaborative Governance and the Protection and Restoration of the Great Lakes

At the federal level of governance, the Great Lakes are shared by the United States and Canada. These governments have concurrent jurisdiction over the waters and their resources with the Canadian provinces of Ontario and Québec; and the U.S. states of Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and New York. Formal arrangements among stakeholders at various levels help solve the problems that inevitably arise with natural resource management. Such arrangements include the Boundary Waters Treaty of 1909, the Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement of 1972, the Great Lakes St. Lawrence Cities Initiative, and the Great Lakes Restoration Initiative of 2009. The Great Lakes as a geographic region is arguably the most collaborative as there is a common vision and mission to restore and protect the Great Lakes. Organizations in the region are linked through decades of partnership, collaboration, and work.


  • English

Media Info

Subject/Index Terms

Filing Info

  • Accession Number: 01887265
  • Record Type: Publication
  • Files: TRIS
  • Created Date: Jul 13 2023 9:37AM